WDI Board of Directors and Staff

A public-private partnership, Wilmington Downtown, Inc. (WDI) is governed by a 38-member board that represents various downtown constituencies, as well as city and county governments.

The board serves from July 1 to June 30, which is WDI's fiscal year. The full board meets quarterly and the five standing committees meet every month. The WDI board chair, vice chairs and treasurer constitute the executive committee, which meets monthly.

2019-2020 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

  • Board Chair: Dane Scalise
  • Board Vice Chair:  Deb Hays
  • Secretary: Spruill Thompson
  • Treasurer:  Tom Davis
  • Chair, ENJOY Committee: Cathey Luna
  • Chair, PLAY Committee: Hank Estep
  • Chair, DREAM Committee: Stephen Whitney
  • Chair, WORK Committee: Tyler Pegg
  • City of Wilmington:  Margaret Haynes
  • New Hanover County Commissioners:  Rob Zapple


Zach Adams Hayley Jensen
Rob Beale Jan Kennedy
Sharon Boyd Billy King
Fredia Brady Sylvia Kochler
Phoebe Bragg Mike Lardieri
Dale Brown Eric Laut
Nancy Bullock Laura Miller
Dawn Carter Paul Pascarosa
Debi Causey Daniel Pena
Gary Coleman Jennifer Rigby
Andrew Cooke Densay Sengsoulavong
Erris Dunston Colin Tarrant
David Gross John Walker
Jeff Hovis John Wilse


Ed Wolverton, President & CEO

Haven Holsinger, Director of Events/ Executive Assistant to the President and CEO

Carole Wirszyla, Content Developer and Manager

Debra Korb, Customer Relations Coordinator