Asylum: Collages by Elizabeth Darrow


PAST DATES AND TIMES

  • Wed, Sep 25, 2019 – Mon, Sep 30, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Sep 18, 2019 – Mon, Sep 23, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Sep 11, 2019 – Mon, Sep 16, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Sep 4, 2019 – Mon, Sep 9, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 28, 2019 – Mon, Sep 2, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 21, 2019 – Mon, Aug 26, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 14, 2019 – Mon, Aug 19, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 7, 2019 – Mon, Aug 12, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Jul 31, 2019 – Mon, Aug 5, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Jul 24, 2019 – Mon, Jul 29, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Jul 17, 2019 – Mon, Jul 22, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM
  • Wed, Jul 10, 2019 – Mon, Jul 15, 2019 11:00 AM- 11:00 PM

LOCATION: Platypus & Gnome - 9 S Front St

visit website


Visit Platypus & Gnome Restaurant to view “Asylum” an exhibit of collages by Wilmington artist, Elizabeth Darrow, as part of our partnership with CHECKER CAB productions and local restaurants. The art exhibit continues until September 30th, 2019. Elizabeth Darrow has made Wilmington her home since 1977. Born in Hartford, Conn. Darrow is a 1967 graduate of Oberlin College (Oberlin, Ohio), where she majored in painting. She has been working in oil and collage throughout her career, usually in the manner of Abstract Expressionism. She works in a variety of styles depending on her medium, but never works “from life” in the traditional sense. Most of the imagery that comes to her seems to hatch of its own accord, emerging from the process. Darrow enjoys working with color, repeating patterns and embedding humor (and angst) into her work. Each piece takes her on a journey of discovery where she hopes to lose herself to the process. Join us for a special champagne toast and special reception for the artist on Thursday, June 20th from 6-8pm. The reception is free and open to the public with complimentary champagne and appetizers. If you would like to stay for dinner, please call 910-769-9300 for dinner reservations. Click here to preview the work in the exhibit! (https://aibgallery.com/product-category/asylum-exhibit/)